2009rt6scisaurav's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Galaxies Have Different Sizes And Shapes


March 10, 1765- I find out that the Sun is in a galaxy called the Milky Way. A galaxy is a huge group of stars, dust, and gas put together. The Milky Way has a disk shape in the center. When you look at the Milky Way at night it’s hazy. Milky Way’s diameter is 100,000 light years.

March 11, 1765- There are three types of galaxies. There are spiral galaxies, elliptical galaxies, and irregular galaxies. Spiral galaxies have arms of stars and gas. Spiral galaxies are disk-shaped and have a central bulge. At the dense parts of the galaxy are young stars. Elliptical galaxies are egg or sphere shaped galaxies. They have no gas or dust in between their stars. All of their stars are old. Irregular galaxies are faint galaxies without a shape. They are smaller than the other types of galaxies and they have less stars. 

Spiral Galaxy

Elliptical Galaxy

Irregular Galaxy

March 12, 1765- If at the center of a galxy is bright it kind of looks like a star. The ceneters of galxies are called quasars. The galaxy that surrounds a quasar is hard to see because it is so much brighter.

March 13, 1765- Astronomers can identify a black hole because of how the things around it react. When gases pull toward a black hole it becomes really hot.


March 14, 1765- Our galaxy is a spiral galaxy.


March 16, 2010 - Posted by | 1

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: